• Postal address

    Pleinlaan 2

    1050 Brussels


Organisation profile

Organisation profile

The department for Communication Sciences (SCOM) consists of three research units: - Centre for Media Sociology (CeMeSo) - Studies on Media Information and Telecommunication (SMIT) - Centre for Marketing Communication Research (MACO) Those research centres are covering five different, but interrelated research angles:

  1. Media sociology (CeMeSo);
  2. Persuasion and Communication (MACO);
  3. Media- and multimedia policy (SMIT);
  4. Culture and Communication (SMIT, CeMeSo);
  5. Politics and Communication (CeMeSo, SMIT, MACO).


  • Information Technologies
  • Communication Policy
  • Science Communication
  • New Media
  • Cultural theory and policy
  • Research On Media Effects
  • Ethnicity
  • Privacy


Dive into the research topics where Communication Sciences is active. These topic labels come from the works of this organisation's members. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Collaborations and top research areas from the last five years

Recent external collaboration on country/territory level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or