Composition: Ilachýam, per Violino, Clarinetto, Violoncello e Pianoforte

Peter Swinnen (Composer)

Research output: Non-textual formComposition


This composition, an evocation of Aristotle's' 4 elements, can be performed as an installation piece by 4 individual instruments, or as a regular quartet performance piece. The harmonies are built on a 4-layer superposition of spectrally analyzed nature sounds of the 4 elements, whereas the melodic material is obtained from a bitmap-synthesized Latin text about mediaeval alchemy.
Original languageEnglish
Media of outputscore
Publication statusPublished - 20 Aug 2009

Bibliographical note

Medium: performing material


  • music
  • composition
  • performance


Dive into the research topics of 'Composition: Ilachýam, per Violino, Clarinetto, Violoncello e Pianoforte'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this