Dedicated lowered dose protocols in pediatric radiology

Scriptie/masterproef: Doctoral Thesis


Diagnostic radiological imaging is an indispensable tool in medical practice for an adequate diagnosis of pathological processes and for the planning and execution of the treatment of patients. Because children are more sensitive to the effects of radiation than adults, young patients must receive the necessary protection against this ionizing radiation.
The aim of this work was to develop dedicated low dose protocols for both CT and RX examinations and this without loss of the diagnostic quality of these studies.
In a first project, an ultra low dose chest CT protocol was evaluated on the basis of image quality in pediatric Cystic Fibrosis patients. We found that a specific CT thorax protocol can replace the biennial follow-up chest X-ray without a major dose penalty and with a diagnostic quality similar to that of a conventional chest CT. A similar study was conducted in the second project, where an ultra low dose head CT protocol was evaluated in patients with suspected craniosynostosis. We concluded that with a dose reduction of 97% the diagnostic image quality for craniosynostosis was comparable, and sometimes even superior, compared to a conventional head CT. For our third project we evaluated the image quality of a reduced dose full-spine X-ray exam performed in pediatric patients with idiopathic scoliosis. As in the previous studies, we also concluded that a dedicated reduced dose protocol can replace the standard protocol without loss of diagnostic image quality.
The results obtained in this thesis show that specific low dose protocols can be developed in pediatric radiology so that, depending on the indication, the radiation dose can be significantly reduced without sacrificing the image quality.
Datum Prijs5 nov 2018
Toekennende instantie
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel
BegeleiderJohan De Mey (Promotor), Nico Buls (Co-promotor), Mieke Cannie (Jury), Nele Herregods (Jury), An Fremout (Jury), Michel Deneyer (Jury), Thierry Gevaert (Jury), Frederik Vandenbroucke (Jury) & Yvan Vandenplas (Jury)

Citeer dit